Policy Resource

Maryland Passes Paid Sick Leave Legislation

Jun 4, 2018

Maryland is the ninth state to pass legislation requiring employers to provide paid sick leave.

Maroke / Shutterstock

The Maryland Healthy Working Families Act took effect on February 11, 2018 — 30 days after the state legislature overrode the governor’s veto. This legislation requires employers with 15 or more employees (including part-time, full-time, temporary, and seasonal workers) to either provide workers with up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year or allow employees to accrue at least one hour of sick leave for every 30 hours the employee works. Small businesses employing fewer than 15 workers must provide unpaid sick leave. Eligible workers can use the paid sick leave to care for themselves or an ill family member; take maternity or paternity leave; or obtain services in response to domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.

Proponents estimate that 750,000 Maryland workers have benefitted from the implementation of Maryland Healthy Working Families Act. As we approach the 30th anniversary of the Family Medical Leave Act in 2023 , it is important to celebrate states who promote family leave and paid sick days. Learn more about how paid sick leave supports the development of young children in ZERO TO THREE’s brief: Building A Secure and Healthy Start: Family Leave in the Early Years.

Updated July 7, 2020

You might also be interested in

Explore More Maryland Focused Resources & Initiatives