Policy Resource

New Hampshire's Early Learning Guidelines (Birth to Five)

Feb 9, 2016

The New Hampshire Early Learning Standards Birth to Five are a statewide resource for everyone who loves, cares for, and educates young children.

The Standards provide essential information to support and enhance children’s development and learning.

The NH Early Learning Standards aspires to encourage dialogue and sharing between everyone who loves, cares for, and educates children; Inform professional development for early childhood professionals; Incorporate current and culturally inclusive research on child development; and Develop and nurture the relationship between early learning and K-12 so that all schools are ready for all children and all children are ready for school.

The first set of guidelines were produced by an early childhood task force that began meeting in 2003 and published the guidelines in 2005. A round of revisions began in 2014 and new standards were released in 2015.

The new standards include a horizontal developmental progression with more developmental indicators and more age groups. The five developmental domains addressed include: Social Emotional Development; Language Development and Emergent Literacy; Cognitive Development; Physical Development and Health; and Creative Expression and Aesthetic Appreciation.

View the New Hampshire Early Learning Standards (Birth to Five) here.

Updated February 2016

Explore more from Regulations and Standards

Explore More New Hampshire Focused Resources & Initiatives