Policy Resource

New Jersey Paid Family Leave

Feb 9, 2016

In early May 2008, former New Jersey Governor John S. Corzine signed into law paid family-leave legislation (A873), taking a major step forward in supporting the states working families. The legislation narrowly passed in both chambers.

The family leave legislation was implemented through the expansion of New Jerseys temporary disability insurance program and is financed through payroll deductions. For 2013, the taxable wage base is $30,900, and the maximum yearly deduction for Family Leave Insurance is $30.90, to fund the program. Workers taking leave receive two-thirds of their salary for six weeks, receiving a maximum of $584 per week (adjusted annually). Additionally, the legislation stipulates that companies with more than 50 employees must hold workers jobs while they are on leave. Small businesses are not required to hold jobs open and provisions in the law allow small businesses to fill a workers position with a permanent replacement, without the risk of being sued. Federal law under the Family and Medical Leave Act allows workers in companies with 50 or more employees to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave for family and medical leave. The paid family leave law took effect on January 1, 2009.

Updated February 2016

Explore more from Quality Improvement